A History Of Success In Complex Litigation

What allowances do Texas employers have to make for new mothers?

On Behalf of | Oct 15, 2015 | Employment Litigation

As an employer in the state of Texas, you are likely aware that there is the potential for your female employees to become pregnant. State and federal laws that offer other employee protections also stipulate some of your responsibilities with regards to expecting, and new, mothers. In order to avoid potential employment litigation, it is important for you to understand the minimum allowances that you must make for new parents.

The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act, or FMLA, specifies the amount of time that eligible workers must be allowed to take off following the birth of a child. According to the Department of Labor, you must allow your employees up to 12 weeks of leave. Their jobs must be protected during this time; however, you are not required to pay workers during these 12 weeks.

Once a mother returns to work, she may still have needs. Under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, you must allow your employees time to express milk for their nursing children for up to one year after the child’s birth. Furthermore, you are also required to provide them with a place to do this that is shielded from view and intrusion. This space cannot be in the bathroom.

This post has provided you with an overview of two of the primary allowances you must make for new mothers in the workplace as an employer. It is important to keep in mind, however, that there may also be other benefits, which you could also be required to provide. Therefore, this should be taken only as general information, not legal advice. 


How Can We Assist You?